KASSAA Girls Basketball Championships

It was another great season of KASSAA Girls Basketball. The KASSAA Championships were held at St. Lawrence College on Tuesday, November 7. The Junior finals was closer than the score indicated. Holy Cross Crusaders put up a good fight against defending Champions Frontenac Falcons. The Falcon and Crusader faithful were out in strong force to cheer on their teams respectfully. In the end, the Flacons raises the KASSAA Trophy in victory. Congratulations to both teams on great year.

The leading scorers for both teams were for the Falcons #15 Maciee Webb with 18pts and for the Crusaders was #12 Sydney Hunter.

The Senior Girls Basketball Championships had everything and then some. It was an action packed game the entire night between Frontenac Falcons and Holy Cross Crusaders. It was a defensive battle or some nerves in front of a packed and enthusiastic crowd that showed up to cheer their teams at St. Lawrence College gym. Both teams only combined to score 10 points with Holy Cross up by 2pts after the first quarter. The second quarter was another defensive battle but both teams started to find their grove in figuring one another out with the score doubling from the first quarter. At half Holy Cross held a slim 1pt. lead heading into the second half of the KASSAA Championships. The third quarter the Falcons came out running and scored 15 pts compared to the 8 pts Crusaders were able to put on the board. After three quarters the Falcons were up 30 to 22. The fourth quarter had everything you wanted to see in a final quarter of a Championship. Both teams left everything had on the floor, unfortunately only one team can be crowned the KASSAA Champions. Although the Crusaders were able to outscore the Falcons in the fourth quarter, in wasn’t enough to dethrone the defending Champs Frontenac Falcons. The final was 37-30.

The leading scorers for the Falcons was # 7 Nadia Pacheco with 18 points and for the Crusaders was # 31 Abby Besselink with 11pts.

Congratulations to the defending KASSAA Champions Frontenac Falcons.